Indigenous Conceptions of Love

Practice Point

Indigenous Conceptions of Love
10
Feb

February 2021

Last chance to register for a dialogue on Zaagi’idiwin and other Indigenous conceptions of love with newly-appointed Officer of the Order of Canada Dr. John Borrows and other esteemed speakers on February 12.

Reconciling Ways of Knowing: Indigenous Knowledge and Science Forum is pleased to partner with the IISAAK OLAM Foundation to host a dialogue series on Zaagi’idiwin and other Indigenous conceptions of love on February 12 through 14th.

The first dialogue in this three-day event will be hosted on Friday, February 12 at 9:00 am Pacific / 11:00 am Central / 1:00 pm Atlantic (for approximately two hours).

REGISTER HERE

The session will open with a prayer from Algonquin Elder Larry McDermott, followed by opening comments from Reconciling Ways of Knowing Convener Dr. David Suzuki and Iisaak Olam President Eli Enns on the vision for the three-day event. The session will then turn to a panel discussion between Dr. John Borrows; Peigi Wilson, LLM; Calvin Sandborn, QC; and Jacquie Miller, MA, in dialogue with Moderator Monica Shore on the implications of Zaagi’idiwin and other Indigenous conceptions of love and relationality for building truly intersocietal legal relationships with each other and for decolonizing our relations to each other and the world in which we live together.

This dialogue will be the first part of a three-day series over the Valentine’s Day weekend.

The second part, featuring Dr. Kim TallBear and Reconciling Ways of Knowing Convener Miles Richardson, OC, will take place on Saturday, February 13 at 12 pm PST / 2 pm CST / 4 pm AST (for approx. 2 hours), and will focus on the impacts of colonization on Indigenous women’s knowledge, bodies and relations; on Indigenous families, community life, and nationhood; and on the land.

The third part, featuring Chief Gordon Planes,  Metis Nation Housing Minister, Will Goodon, and performances by award-winning singer/songwriter Alysha Brilla, will take place on Sunday, February 14 at 12 pm PST / 2 pm CST / 4 pm AST (for approx. 2 hours), and will spotlight two initiatives that apply Indigenous concepts of love to housing and community development in the context of Indigenous Protected and Conserved Areas.

Both days will include significant opportunities for your direct participation. Register today and stay tuned for updates as we confirm the final details.

* * *

We acknowledge that the land on which we work is the unceded territory of the Coast Salish peoples, including the territories of the xʷməθkwəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and Səl̓ílwətaʔ/Selilwitulh (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations.